John LaPlante, P.E., PTOE, Honored with ITE's Theodore M. Matson Memorial Award

John LaPlante, P.E., PTOE, T.Y. Lin International (TYLI) Vice President and Director of Traffic Engineering, was presented with the Theodore M. Matson Memorial Award by the Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE) on August 10 at the ITE Annual Meeting and Exhibit in Vancouver, B.C. Established in 1957, ITE’s prestigious award recognizes and honors outstanding contributions in the field of traffic engineering.

With over 45 years of professional traffic engineering and transportation planning experience, LaPlante has demonstrated a strong commitment and dedication to the advancement of the transportation profession. He is involved in several national committees including the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) Green Book Technical Committee, National Committee on Uniform Traffic Control Devices (NCUTCD) Bicycle Tech Committee & Pedestrian Task Force, and the Transportation Research Board (TRB) Pedestrian Committee and was principal author of the AASHTO Pedestrian Guide. He has taught many courses as part of the FHWA Pedestrian Safety Action Plan and the Association of Pedestrian and Bicycle Professionals (APBP)/U.S. Access Board Designing for Pedestrian Accessibility training. He is active in many professional organizations, including being a Fellow member of ITE where he currently serves on the Pedestrian Bike Council. For more information about ITE, please visit its website.

Filed Under: Company News