T.Y. Lin International (TYLI) designed the 4,500-square-foot Visitor’s Center for the newly created Old Erie Canal Heritage Park in Port Byron, New York. The park centers around Enlarged Erie Canal Lock 52, originally constructed in 1851, with the north chamber lengthened around 1885.
TYLI completed the design of the Visitor’s Center, which includes space for interpretive exhibits, a gift shop, and comfort facilities. The building serves as the access point for pedestrian trails through a unique complex of historic and well-preserved canal structures and support buildings. The new heritage tourism attraction allows visitors to gain insight into the nature of life on the Erie Canal, a 19th-century technological marvel.
- The Visitor’s Center features open interior spaces and a modern design aesthetic that clearly identifies it as a new element but complements both the historic structures and the environmentally sensitive, wetland-intensive site.
- TYLI designed the surface lot for passenger vehicles and buses to support the Visitor’s Center, as well as the pedestrian path to the center that meets Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) requirements.
- Utility extensions were designed and detailed, including connection to the village water main and a pump station and force main for the sanitary sewer.